top of page
Recent Posts

Park Avenue

This place is sweet. Real sweet. The reason I say this is because I am an Apple believer. Everything from the iPhone to the iPad to the Mac is an essential element of my arsenal. [And I understand the android argument. Believe me I do. Yet, I disregard it]. Park Ave is the living embodiment of a reality where Apple would diversify into coffee products. It’s edgy, it’s hip, and it’s technology driven. [They have a hand dryer designed by Mitsubishi in the bathroom. Who does that? That being said, wow. What a fantastic appliance that no one actually needs but every one really wants. Long Live Mitsubishi!]

I visited Park Avenue [located in the Hill] for the first time this year with some friends. Immediately, what hits you is a sense of innovation. Everything is modern, shiny, and state of the art. Especially at the location in the Hill, the back of the shop is where all the roasting occurs. Lots of machinery and packaging equipment run in the background. The main offices are also located in the Hill. I was able to talk to a few of the workers about their company and the way in which they operate the business. It was different to see the business aspect of the coffee since many times that’s forgotten.

I proceeded to order ‘coffee’ at Park Ave. What I ended up ordering was the Turtle Mocha. Let me be frank. This is in no way actually coffee. There may be espresso in it, however, this for intents and purposes is a dessert. Thinking of chocolate, topped with chocolate, in a drink form. Definitely a primary cause of the “diabeetus”. But, now that I have tried it, I will never chose another beverage.

The Park Ave location is not very consumer friendly. The people are nice and the coffee is delicious. However, there is not much space is sit, talk, or study. There’s just one long table and a few chairs. The Lafayette square location is altogether different. Located next to the Chocolate Bar [a must-go-to establishment], this place has tons of comfortable seating and an inviting presence. The door is usually propped and the baristas are really engaging.

Also, this seems to be one of the biggest draws. GOOEY BUTTER CAKE. Something very central to the heart of any devote St. Louisan. Park Ave has 76 flavors… Let that sink in and let the “diabeetus” wash over you.

I try to be funny. But, the point I make is this: Park Avenue is worth checking out. Definitely a Saint Louis coffee shop. This is the place I recommend whenever friends come into town. Technology meets tradition. Tell your friends, tell your wives.


Archive
bottom of page