top of page
Recent Posts

Touché 2Schae

Have you ever sat somewhere so you long that you forget where you were? For a moment, you forget that you’re not in the comfort of your own home?

This is the euphoric experience I had at 2Schae Café. Owned by a married couple, 2Schae is located in DeBaliviere Place. I was tipped off to this place by my good friend Catherine. We went there bright and early on a cool Wednesday morning.

The place itself has an interesting layout. When you enter the coffee shop, there exists a small seated area for patrons that plan to order breakfast. In the middle of the coffee shop, there is coffee bar, where the caffeinated drinks are produced. At the far end of the shop, a room that resembles the stereotypical suburban living room invites avid coffee drinkers to sit.

Catherine and I sat down and began catching up on the finer details of our lives. Although I see Catherine almost every day, rarely do I get to say more than a “hello” to her. Thus, our friendship consists of many of these “catch-up session” [usually over coffee] every few weeks.

This time, we talked extensively over theology. As Christians from differing denominations, many secondary dogmas seem to vary. Catherine (Catholic background) had recently come across Calvinism, a doctrine I hold {more than} dearly (since I hail from the Protestant tradition). What I supposed would be a short discussion lasted for well over an hour. Questions flew back and forth. Experiences were related, and a conclusion seemed unreachable (for now).

But the reason I share this seemingly dry experience was for this very reason. I forgot we were at 2Schae. The entire time we conversed, I no longer had a reservation to remain quiet, to throw in headphones, and to study. Rather, there existed a certain level of comfortability. I was free to talk with Catherine as if I were in my living room. That remains the redeeming quality of Schae.

Let me not confuse you. 2Schae is cute. 2Schae is tasty. 2Schae is quality. However, 2Schae is home.

After leaving 2Schae, I thought extensively about my experience. Why did I enjoy it as much as I did? There was nothing that stuck out forthrightly. But, I quickly came to the realization that coffee can be something that exists in the comfort of your home. A coffee shop is not always a requirement for the “coffee experience.” For the sake of this project, I have focused my view on the esablished coffee outlet. Yet, there exists another world of avid coffee drinkers that enjoy java in the comfort of their carpeted living room. The conversation I had with Catherine is happening with others in living rooms all over the country. Coffee is not confined to the coffee shop. Is that an allusion to rhetoric? Only time will tell...


Archive
bottom of page