top of page
Recent Posts

Stone Spiral.

Yes, there exists at this location a spiral surrounded by stones. So now that we have gotten that out of the way, let us begin.

Let me preface by saying how much I truly enjoy Stone Spiral Coffee and Curios (if you ever call it this, just get out). This may be the nostalgia talking, but Stone Spiral is my favorite coffee shop in the Saint Louis area. By far. Granted that I go to Stone Spiral at least once a week, this coffee shop will always have a special place in my heart.

One particular reason that Stone Spiral stands unparalleled is because it is my coffee shop out of all these coffee shops. For a long while (before senioritis set in), I ventured to coffee shops to study. I tried to learn advanced ideas related to Molecular Cell Biology and Organic Chemistry, particularly in my sophomore year [The only thing I can say confidently is that the mitochondria is the powerhouse of the cell]. The coffee experience reminded me of how much I had to study, how far behind I was, and how close the next test was. Yet, Stone Spiral was my safe haven. Whenever I need a place to relax, an environment to read, I would run here.

Does that give me an inherent bias? Was this my real true coffee experience? Either way, Stone Spiral stands number one on my list. The reason stems from its community feel. I think this is the first coffee shop to which I consistently venture. So, I guess, you can say that this is my community.

Sidebar: Throughout the entirety of this project, I have felt inadequate. I am the novice in a world that requires professionals. My elementary palate is up against time-tested seasoned veterans. I enter these different coffee establishments and I feel out of place. I get the same look as the guy who wears socks and sandals. But, at Stone Spiral, I run the show. I know the baristas by name. I know the history. I know the books on their bookshelf (I mentioned how I love this bookshelf, right?). It is my community because I am the seasoned veteran, the regular, THE guy here.

I feel at home talking about Stone (first name basis). That’s the beauty of it all. Most patrons stop by for a fresh cup of coffee and continue on their day. Stone Spiral is a fixture in their daily routine. More so, this shop is all-purpose. A place to work, a place to joke, a place to relax, a place for local musicians to come play. This place is also one of celebration. For example, I was there once reading Knowing God by JI Packer [for the first time]. For any of you who have read this book {arguably the most influential theology book of the last fifty years}, you understand how his “old-school” writing captivates readers. As expected, I lost complete track of time. When I arrived the sun was still out, but the moment I took a break from reading, it was late evening. To my surprise, I found myself reading in the midst of a memorial service. Members of the community had set up time to remember a close friend, who spent copious amount of times at Stone Spiral. What shocked me was that they never asked me to leave. In fact, they invited me to join in the refreshments and enjoy the music that was being played. This was an altogether different experience for me. Is this normal? I doubt it.

But, then again, is my experience at Stone Spiral ever the typical coffee experience? Probably not. But I’ll try and explain a typical day. First, I plan to spend at least four hours at Stone Spiral. If I go, I’ll make the most of it. Next, I need some sort of interesting read, something that has been on my shelf for a while or something that I have been itching to read. I proceed to go to Stone Spiral. Now, ordering is always an issue. I am a sucker for mochas. Always have been and always will be. However, they have an awesome tea selection that frankly trips me every time. After purchasing my drink, I head outside, across the street to a small park. This is the best part of Stone Spiral. I sit in the grass, under the shade of the tree and I lose all notion of time. I truly forget everything else and am connected to whatever it is that I’m reading. This park is just an extension of Stone Spiral, in my mind. For me, this is one of the greatest joys in my college life. I am a man of simple things. This is the simplest of things. So maybe my experience with Stone Spiral is not prototypical, but I’m not a prototypical guy. I can go to great lengths to explain how awesome this experience is, but maybe you should just go try it?


Archive
bottom of page